Kerbio

Licensing by council › Barking and Dagenham

HMO licensing in Barking and Dagenham

Which licences a rented house needs in Barking and Dagenham, and where. England. Checked 7 September 2026.

Barking and Dagenham runs additional licensing and selective licensing on top of mandatory licensing.

Mandatory HMO licence: 5 or more people forming 2 or more households sharing facilities.

Additional licensing

Extends HMO licensing to smaller HMOs (typically 3 or 4 people) in a designated area.

StatusIn forceWherewhole boroughDesignated9 January 2025

Borough-wide additional HMO licence for HMOs of three or four persons in two or more households, effective from 9 January 2025 (Cabinet approved 23 July 2024 per council news); end date not stated on page.

Selective licensing

Every privately rented home in a designated area needs a licence, HMO or not.

StatusIn forceWherenamed areas: designated areas (area list not stated on pages read)Designated6 April 2025

Replacement selective licensing scheme for single-household lets effective 6 April 2025 in designated areas; applications opened 17 March 2025; end date and area list not stated on pages read.

Council HMO page · HMO Article 4 in Barking and Dagenham

Check an exact postcode for Article 4

See this on every listing.Kerbio puts the Article 4 answer, licensing, the council's HMO register and sold prices on the Rightmove, Zoopla or OnTheMarket page itself. Free for 7 days, then £39 a month.
Add to Chrome

Sources: Barking and Dagenham council, gov.uk HMO licensing. Schemes change; confirm with the council before you offer.