Kerbio

Licensing by council › Greenwich

HMO licensing in Greenwich

Which licences a rented house needs in Greenwich, and where. England. Checked 7 September 2026.

Greenwich runs additional licensing and selective licensing on top of mandatory licensing.

Mandatory HMO licence: 5 or more people forming 2 or more households sharing facilities.

Additional licensing

Extends HMO licensing to smaller HMOs (typically 3 or 4 people) in a designated area.

StatusIn forceWherewhole boroughDesignated1 January 2024

Borough-wide additional HMO licensing (up to 4 tenants from 2 or more households) listed as current on the licence checker page; in effect from 1 January 2024 per council news release https://www.royalgreenwich.gov.uk/news/2024/new-additional-hmo-licensing-scheme-offers-better-standards-private-tenants-and-guidance; end date not stated.

Selective licensing

Every privately rented home in a designated area needs a licence, HMO or not.

StatusIn forceWherenamed wards: Woolwich Riverside, Woolwich Common, Shooters Hill, Plumstead Common, Plumstead Glyndon

Selective licensing in five named wards listed as current; dates not stated on page; council consultation page on a replacement selective scheme for 2026 exists but returned HTTP 403.

Council HMO page · HMO Article 4 in Greenwich

Check an exact postcode for Article 4

See this on every listing.Kerbio puts the Article 4 answer, licensing, the council's HMO register and sold prices on the Rightmove, Zoopla or OnTheMarket page itself. Free for 7 days, then £39 a month.
Add to Chrome

Sources: Greenwich council, gov.uk HMO licensing. Schemes change; confirm with the council before you offer.