Kerbio

Licensing by council › Nottingham

HMO licensing in Nottingham

Which licences a rented house needs in Nottingham, and where. England. Checked 7 September 2026.

Nottingham runs additional licensing and selective licensing on top of mandatory licensing.

Mandatory HMO licence: 5 or more people forming 2 or more households sharing facilities.

Additional licensing

Extends HMO licensing to smaller HMOs (typically 3 or 4 people) in a designated area.

StatusIn forceWherewhole districtDesignated1 January 2024

Third additional licensing scheme, citywide since January 2024 (month only); end date not stated on page

Selective licensing

Every privately rented home in a designated area needs a licence, HMO or not.

StatusIn forceWherenamed areas: designated area covering over 30,000 privately rented homes (not whole city); check via council MyProperty toolDesignated1 December 2023

Second selective licensing scheme started 1 December 2023; end date not stated; new fees from 2026-04-01

Council HMO page · Council Article 4 page · HMO Article 4 in Nottingham

Check an exact postcode for Article 4

See this on every listing.Kerbio puts the Article 4 answer, licensing, the council's HMO register and sold prices on the Rightmove, Zoopla or OnTheMarket page itself. Free for 7 days, then £39 a month.
Add to Chrome

Sources: Nottingham council, gov.uk HMO licensing. Schemes change; confirm with the council before you offer.